Hearst Sports Writing Winners Named


The top 20 winners in college Sports Writing have been announced in the 48th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program. 83 students from 49 schools nationwide participated. The Hearst Journalism Awards are held in member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

The first place winner is NICK COMPTON, from the University of Iowa. Nick will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his story in The Daily Iowan titled “Running to the Future.” University of Iowa will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.
Other scholarship winners are:

MATTHEW BAKER, Northwestern University, second place, $1,500 scholarship
THOR NYSTROM, University of Kansas, third place, $1,000 scholarship
KELVIN ANG, Syracuse University, fourth place, $750 scholarship
CAROLINE GWALTNEY, University of Alabama, fifth place, $600 scholarship
MARISSA DeCUIR, Louisiana State University, sixth place, $500 scholarship
BRIAN LEWIS-JONES, University of Kansas, seventh place, $500 scholarship
PHILLIP KISUBIKA, University of Georgia, eighth place, $500 scholarship
KEVIN HUDSON, University of Oregon, ninth place, $500 scholarship
JOSHUA K. FOLCK, Pennsylvania State University, tenth place, $500 scholarship
University of Kansas is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated school points from the first four (out of six) writing competitions. It is followed by: Northwestern University; University of Missouri; University of Montana; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Oregon; Pennsylvania State University; University of Georgia; Indiana University; Louisiana State University. The final winners will be named in April following the last writing competition of this academic year.

The Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. It consists of six writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions, two radio and two television broadcast news competitions, and one multimedia competition with championship finals in all divisions (except multimedia).

Currently, more than 100 undergraduate accredited schools of journalism in the are eligible to participate in the program, which awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are: Stephen Buckley, Managing Editor, The St. Petersburg Times, FL; Arthur S. Brisbane, Former Senior Vice President, Knight Ridder, Inc., Monte Sereno, CA; and Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor, Houston Chronicle, TX.

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of merit are:

AMY BRITTAIN, Louisiana State University, eleventh place
ANDREW ASTLEFORD, University of Missouri, twelfth place
BRITTANY DARWELL, University of Missouri, thirteenth place
MICHAEL SCHWARTZ, University of Arizona, fourteenth place
WHITNEY MALKIN, University of Oregon, fifteenth place-tie
STEPHANIE HAUGHTON, Florida A&M University, fifteenth place-tie
JON BLAU, Pennsylvania State University, seventeenth place
JAMES LITTLEJOHN, Brigham Young University, eighteenth place-tie
ANDREW ZUCKERMAN, University of Maryland, eighteenth place-tie
DOUG GULASY, Kent State University, eighteenth place-tie


# # #


Jan C. Watten