“Freedom of speech is not only the boon but the basis of democracy — not only the gift but the guarantee of liberty and security – not only the privilege but the protection of a free people.”

— William Randolph Hearst


Program Guidelines

Program Guidelines

hearst-foundationThere are 14 journalism awards competitions throughout each school year — five writing, two photojournalism, one radio broadcast, two television
broadcast, and four multimedia competitions. Each participating university is eligible to enter two separate students’ entries per competition. Double bylines and/or group entries are not allowed except in the Team Multimedia Storytelling competition. The submission must have been disseminated – published, aired or posted – while the student was an undergraduate journalism major. An exception is made for photo entrants who do not have to be journalism majors to enter the photo competitions.



The Hearst Journalism Awards Program, was founded in 1960, to provide support, encouragement, and assistance to journalism education at the college and university level. The program awards scholarships to students for outstanding performance in college-level journalism, with matching grants to the students’ schools. The 58th annual program offering up to $500,000 in awards, consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions (one in radio and two in television), and four multimedia competitions – with championship finals in all divisions. Participation in the program is open to undergraduate journalism majors currently enrolled in ACEJMC – accredited
domestic universities.