Hearst Photo News & Sports Competition Winners




Twenty college photographers have been named finalists in the second photojournalism competition of the 2007-2008 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. This was the News and Sports category in which 50 students from 28 schools nationwide participated.

The top four winners, along with the top four finalists in the other two photo competitions, will submit additional photos for a semi-final round of judging this May. Of those, six photojournalists will be chosen to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championships in San Francisco, along with winners in the writing and broadcast news competitions.

The annual photojournalism competitions are held in member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

The top four finalists are:

First Place, $2,000 award, PHILIP ANDREWS, Western Kentucky University
Second Place, $1,500 award, MICHAEL J. MULLADY, San Francisco State University
Third Place, $1,000 award, JOHN TULLY, University of Missouri
Fourth Place, $750 award, ROBERT LEISTRA, Ball State University
Other award winners are:

Fifth Place, $600 award, JOHN W. ADKISSON, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Sixth Place, $500 award, CRYSTAL LoGIUDICE, Louisiana State University
Seventh Place, $500 award, LUANNE DIETZ, University of Florida
Eighth Place, $500 award, JARRETT P. BAKER, University of Florida
Ninth Place, $500 award, DAVID FOSTER, Kent State University
Tenth Place, $500 award, ELLIOTT HESS, University of Kentucky
Other students who placed among the top 20 in the photojournalism competition and will receive award certificates are:

BEN FREDMAN, University of Missouri, eleventh place
MANDY McCONAHA, Western Kentucky University, twelfth place
TIM KUPSICK, University of Montana, thirteenth place
ED MATTHEWS, University of Kentucky, fourteenth place-tie
MAGGIE SHUTTLESWORTH, Pennsylvania State University, fourteenth place-tie
RICKY WAI KI LEUNG, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, sixteenth place
DEANNA DENT, Arizona State University, seventeenth place
GAVIN JACKSON, Kent State University, eighteenth place-tie
DANIEL McCLANAHAN, Iowa State University, eighteenth place-tie
ADAM ALEXANDER, Ball State University, twentieth place-tie
JOSHUA SYKES, Pennsylvania State University, twentieth place-tie
The Hearst Journalism Awards Program, which is now in its 48th year, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. Scholarship awards, ranging from $1,500 to $5,000, are presented to the finalists following the National Championships. In addition to the photojournalism competitions, the program also includes six writing, four broadcast, and one multimedia competition. Annually, up to $500,000 in student scholarships, matching grants to the students’ schools and stipends are distributed.

The photojournalism judges are: Janet Reeves, Director of Photography, The Rocky Mountain News, Denver, CO; Mary Shanahan, Creative Director, Town & Country Magazine, New York, NY; and Pim Van Hemmen, Assistant Managing Editor/Photography, The Star-Ledger, Newark, NJ.

University of Missouri placed first in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated school points from two out of the three photo competitions. They are followed by: University of Florida; San Francisco State University; Western Kentucky University; Ball State University; University of Kentucky; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Iowa State University; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill and Kent State University. The final winners will be named in April following the third photo competition.


# # #


Jan C. Watten