Hearst In Depth Writing Winners Named

The top 20 winners in college In-Depth writing were announced today in the 48th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which more than 100 undergraduate accredited journalism programs in colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

JOHN  W.  COX, from the University of Florida, won first place.  He will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his article in the Independent Florida Alligator titled, “Student Death Still Unsolved.” John will have the opportunity to compete in the Hearst National Writing Championship in San Francisco next June.  The University of Florida’s College of Journalism and Communications will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:

JAMES  KINDLE, Arizona State University, second place, $1,500 scholarship;
RYAN  KNUTSON, University of Oregon, third place, $1,000 scholarship;
BRIAN  HUGHES, University of Georgia, fourth place, $750 scholarship;
ELIZABETH   A.  NELSON, Northwestern University, fifth place, $600 scholarship;
EPHRAIM  C.  PAYNE, University of Oregon, sixth place, $500 scholarship;
MATT  LINDBERG, University of Kansas, seventh place, $500 scholarship;
ALEX  FELSINGER, San Francisco State University, eighth place, $500 scholarship;
JOEL  GEHRINGER, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, ninth place, $500 scholarship;
DEREK  KRAVITZ, University of Missouri, tenth place, $500 scholarship.

University of Montana is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition, with the highest accumulated school points from the first three (out of six) writing competitions.  It is followed by:University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Missouri; Northwestern University; University ofKansas;  Indiana University;  Arizona State University; University of Oklahoma; PennsylvaniaState University; University of Oregon.  The final winners will be named in April following the last writing competition.  The final first through third place winners are awarded $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 respectively.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions, four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, (with Championship finals in all divisions except multimedia), and awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Stephen Buckley, Managing Editor, The St. Petersburg Times, FL;  Arthur S. Brisbane, Former Senior Vice President, Knight Ridder, Inc., Monte Sereno, CA; and Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor, Houston Chronicle, TX.

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of merit are:

SHANNON  MUCHMORE, Oklahoma State University, eleventh place
BROOKE  BATES, Drake University, twelfth place
JUAN  PEREZ, JR., University of Nebraska-Lincoln, thirteenth place
SARA  GANIM, Pennsylvania State University, fourteenth place
COREY  W.  PAUL, Western Kentucky University, fifteenth place-tie
KRISTI  OLOFFSON, Indiana University, fifteenth place-tie
JESSICA  MAYRER, University of Montana, fifteenth place-tie
DUNJA  ZDERO, Western Kentucky University, eighteenth place
JOSEPH  A.  BUFFONE, JR., Pennsylvania State University, nineteenth place-tie
COURTNEY  CONDRON, University of Kansas, nineteenth place-tie

There were 90 students from 53 universities and colleges participating in the program’s
In-Depth Writing Competition.  For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners
section of the website which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan C. Watten, Program Director