Hearst Photojournalism II Winners Named




San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Photo Picture Story/Series Competition of the 2014-2015 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  The winners were selected from 65 entries submitted from 41 schools nationwide.

The top winners, along with the top finalists from competition I and two overall high-scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging in April.  Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists.  The Championship will be held this June in San Francisco.

The top ten finalists are:

First Place, $2,600 award, Carolyn Van Houten, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Second Place, $2,000 award, Austin Anthony, Western Kentucky University *

Third Place, $1,500 award, Brittany Greeson, Western Kentucky University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Callaghan O’Hare, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Chris Janjic, Syracuse University *

Sixth Place, certificate, Michael Reaves, University of Kentucky

Seventh Place, certificate, Isaac Hale, Ohio University

Eighth Place, certificate, Louise Johns, University of Montana

Ninth Place, certificate, Emily Harger, Ohio University

Tenth Place, certificate, Leah Klafczynski, Kent State University

*Austin Anthony and Chris Janjic were 2014 graduates, and per program guidelines, are not eligible for the semi-final round.  Michael Reaves and Isaac Hale qualify for the semi-finals.

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

Western Kentucky University has won first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the two photo competitions held this year.  It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Syracuse University; Ohio University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Kent State University; San Francisco State University; University of Montana; University of Missouri; Indiana University. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The photojournalism judges are:  Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; Jakub Mosur, Freelance Photographer, San Francisco, CA; Kenneth Irby, Senior Faculty, Director of Community Relations & Diversity Programs, The Poynter Institute, St. Petersburg, FL.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 55th year, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970.  The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.


# # #