Hearst Photojournalism Semi-Finalists Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the twelve college photojournalism students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 55th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  They are the top winners in the two 2014-2015 photo competitions and two finalists with the high scores earned from multiple placements in the competitions:

Dillon Deaton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Kaylee Everly, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Brittany Greeson, Western Kentucky University

Isaac Hale, Ohio University

Leah Klafczynski, Kent State University

Callaghan O’Hare, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Katie McLean, Western Kentucky University

Michael Reaves, University of Kentucky

Andrew Renneisen, Syracuse University

Timothy Tai, University of Missouri

Carolyn Van Houten, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Zachary Wittman, Central Michigan University

These winners, whose work was selected from 171 entries, will submit additional photo portfolios for the semi-final round of judging.  The judges will evaluate the portfolios and select six finalists to participate in the program’s National Championship held June 1 – 5, 2015 in San Francisco.  During the Championship, the six photo finalists along with eight writing, five radio, five television and five multimedia finalists will complete spot news assignments, vying for additional scholarship awards.

The photojournalism judges are:  Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; Jakub Mosur, Freelance Photographer, San Francisco, CA; Kenneth Irby, Senior Faculty, Director of Community Relations & Diversity Programs, The Poynter Institute, St. Petersburg, FL.

There are 108 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  The Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competition in 1970, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.


# # #