Hearst Television Broadcast News Winners Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the finalists selected in the 2014-2015 Journalism Awards Program’s television broadcast news competition.  The top television winners, selected from 66 entrants from 44 schools, will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging (along with five winners from the first television competition).

Following the semi-finals, five television finalists will be chosen to participate in the 2015 Championship in San Francisco, along with the radio, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

The top television winners are:

First Place, $2,600 award, Landon Miller, University of Nevada

Second Place, $2,000 award, Omar Jimenez, Northwestern University

Third Place, $1,500 award, Elizabeth Tew, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Rachel White, Pennsylvania State University *

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Ryan Hill, Arizona State University

Sixth Place, certificate, Shay McAlister, University of Missouri

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

* Rachel White is  spring 2014 graduate and as such is not eligible for the semi-final round. Sixth place winner Shay McAlister qualifies for the semi finals along with the other top five winners.

Other finalists receiving certificates of merit are:

Seventh Place, Leah Harding, University of Florida

Eighth Place, Kristin Ruffin, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Ninth Place, Jacob Pinter, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

Tenth Place, Sarah McCarthy, University of Iowa

The judges, all broadcast professionals, are: Marci Burdick, Senior Vice President of Broadcasting, Schurz Communications, Inc., Michawaka, IN; Harvey Nagler, Vice President, Radio, CBS News, New York, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill won first place in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the two television and one radio competition held this year. They are followed by: Arizona State University; University of Southern California; University of Missouri; Syracuse University; University of Oklahoma; University of Florida; Michigan State University; Brigham Young University; Northwestern University. The top three winners earn $10,000, $4,000, and $2,000 respectively.

The 55th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is held in 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.  The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to Program which also includes writing, photojournalism, and multimedia competitions and offers awards totaling up to $500,000.


Contact: Jan C. Watten, Program Director