Hearst Photojournalism II Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Picture Story/Series Photojournalism Competition of the 2013-2014 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  The winners were selected from 52 entries submitted from 30 schools nationwide.  The top winners, along with the top finalists from Competition One and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging this April.  Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists.  The Championship will be held this June in Washington, DC.

The top five finalists are:

First Place, $2,600 award, Jillian Knight, Pennsylvania State University

Second Place, $2,000 award, Danny Guy, Western Kentucky University

Third Place, $1,500 award, Emily Rhyne, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Brittany Greeson, Western Kentucky University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Ian C. Bates, Ohio University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, Emily Harger, Ohio University

Seventh Place, certificate, Yue Wu, Iowa State University of Science & Technology

Eighth Place, certificate, Andrew Renneisen, Syracuse University

Ninth Place, certificate, Amy Stroth, University of Missouri

Tenth Place, certificate, Connor Radnovich, Arizona State University

Western Kentucky University receives first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from both photo competitions.  It is followed by; Ohio University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Kent State University; University of Missouri; Syracuse University; Pennsylvania State University; Indiana University; Arizona State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln.  The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. These awards will be presented at the Intercollegiate Dinner in Washington, DC this June.

The photojournalism judges are:  Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX, Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; and Jakub Mosur, Freelance Photographer, San Francisco, CA.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 54th year, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970.  The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.


Contact: Jan Watten




#  #  #