Hearst Personality/Profile Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college personality/profile writing were announced today in the 54th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  105 entries from 55 schools were received in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Christina Gallagher, a senior from Pennsylvania State University.  Christina will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “A Peerless Prognosticator” published in The Lion’s Roar.  Penn State University’s College of Communications will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Christina also qualifies for the National Writing Championship this June in Washington, DC.

Other scholarship winners are:

Connor Radnovich, Arizona State University, second place, $2,000 scholarship

Lauren Caruba, Northwestern University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Michael Majchrowicz, Indiana University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Matthew Glowicki, Indiana University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

            Christina Bucciere, Kent State University, sixth place

Emily Rhodes, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, seventh place

David Schick, University of Georgia, eighth place

Yunita Ong, Northwestern University, ninth place

Elaine Godfrey, Iowa State University, tenth place

Indiana University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the fourth of five writing competitions.  They are followed by:  Pennsylvania State University; Northwestern University; University of Florida; Arizona State University; University of Missouri; University of Georgia; University of Montana; Kent State University; University of Oregon. The final winners will be announced after the breaking news writing competition. The top three intercollegiate winners will win $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel; Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News; and John Temple, Senior Fellow, John S. Knight Journalism Fellowships Program, Stanford University, CA.


Contact: Jan C. Watten




# # #