Hearst Television Competition II Winners Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the student television broadcast finalists selected in the 2013-2014 Journalism Awards Program’s Broadcast News Competition II.

Five television winners, selected from 60 entrants from 34 schools, will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging (along with five winners from Competition I).  Following the semi-finals, five television finalists will be chosen to participate in the 2014 Championship in Washington, DC, along with the radio, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

The top five television semi- finalists are:

First Place, $2,600 award, Landon Dowdy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Second Place, $2,000 award, Rachel Wittel, University of Missouri

Third Place, $1,500 award, Omar Jimenez, Northwestern University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Shayne Dwyer, Arizona State University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Taylor Barth, University of Missouri

Sixth through tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, Nicole Chadwick, Elon University

Seventh Place, certificate, Marc Whiteman, University of Florida

Eighth Place, certificate, Joy Wang, University of Southern California

Ninth Place, certificate, Haley Nelson, Indiana University

Tenth Place, certificate, Tara Molina, Arizona State University

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Marci Burdick, Senior Vice President, Schurz Communications, Inc., Michawaka, IN; Edward Esposito, Vice President, Information Media, Rubber City Radio Group, Akron, OH; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

The University of Missouri has won first place in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the Radio, Television I and Television II competitions.  It is followed by: Arizona State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Southern California; Pennsylvania State University; University of Montana; Northwestern University; University of Florida; University of Minnesota.

The 54th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is held in 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.  The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to Program which also includes writing, photojournalism, and multimedia competitions and offers awards totaling up to $500,000.  Please check our Web site for the winning work.


Contact: Jan C. Watten