Hearst Photojournalism Comp. II Winners Named



San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the February photojournalism competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  Entries in this competition were in the category of picture story/series. 

The winners were selected from 61 entries submitted from 38 schools nationwide.  The top winners, along with the top finalists in competition I and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging in May.  Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists.  

106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions. 

The finalists who qualify for the semi-final round are: 

First Place, $2,600 award, Carolyn Van Houten, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 

Second Place, $2,000 award, Julysa Sosa, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 

Third Place, $1,500 award, Kelley King, Pennsylvania State University * 

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Jill Knight, Pennsylvania State University 

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Hannah Potes, Kent State University 

Sixth Place, certificate, Brianna Soukup, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 

*As a spring 2012 graduate, Kelley King is not eligible to participate in the semi-final competition. 

The seventh through tenth place finalists are: 

Seventh Place, certificate, Sarah Hoffman University of Missouri 

Eighth Place, certificate, Ian Maule, Western Kentucky University 

Ninth Place, certificate, Jaime Henry-White, University of Missouri 

Tenth Place, certificate, Ian C. Bates, Ohio University 

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 53rd year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970.  The program also includes five writing contests, three broadcast competitions, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.  The top five winning schools receive matching grants. 

The photojournalism judges are:  Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX, Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Editor, Sacramento Bee, CA; and Jakub Mosur, Freelance Photographer, San Francisco, CA. 

The University of Missouri has won first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the two photo competitions.  It is followed by: Pennsylvania State University; Western Kentucky University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Ohio University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Kent State University; University of Oregon; University of Minnesota (tie); University of Florida (tie). The top three winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.  

To view the top finalists’ winning work, visit the monthly winners section of the website. 

#  #  #