Hearst Photo Semi-Finalists Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the twelve college photojournalism students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 53rd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  They are the top winners in the two 2012-2013 photo competitions and two finalists with the highest scores earned from multiple placements in the competitions:

Jabin Botsford, Western Kentucky University

Grant Hindsley, University of Missouri

Susannah Kay, Ohio University

Jill Knight, Pennsylvania State University

Ian Maule, Western Kentucky University

Hannah Potes, Kent State University

Anna Reed, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Julysa Sosa, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Brianna Soukup, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Carolyn Van Houten, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Adam Wolffbrandt, Western Kentucky University

Yue Wu, Iowa State University

These twelve winners, whose work was selected from 163 entries, will submit additional photo portfolios for the semi-final round of judging.  The judges will evaluate the portfolios and select six finalists to participate in the program’s National Championship held June 3 – 7, 2013 in San Francisco.  During the Championship, the six photo finalists along with eight writing, five radio, five television and five multimedia finalists will complete spot news assignments, vying for additional scholarship awards.

The photojournalism judges are:  Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX, Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Editor, Sacramento Bee, CA; and Jakub Mosur, Freelance Photographer, San Francisco, CA.

There are 106 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  The Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competition in 1970, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.


# # #


Jan C. Watten, Program Director