Hearst Multimedia Competition III Winners Named


San Francisco – The top ten winners in college multimedia journalism were announced today in the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  The category of this competition was Enterprise Reporting.

First Place has been awarded to KELLY LAFFERTY, a 2012 graduate from Western Kentucky University.  Kelly will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning multimedia piece “Young in Heart.” Western Kentucky will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other multimedia top five scholarship winners are:

Second Place, DAK  DILLON, University of Missouri, $2,000 scholarship

Third Place, SARAH  HOFFMAN, University of Missouri, $1,500 scholarship

Fourth Place, ALYSSA  ORR, Western Kentucky University, $1,000 scholarship

Fifth Place, MATTHEW  JARCHOW, Kent State University, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, RISHABH  JAIN, University of Iowa

Seventh Place, CARTER  MCCALL, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Eighth Place, JON  AUGUSTINE, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Ninth Place, DANIEL  HOLTMEYER, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Tenth Place, PATRICK  RECORD, University of Montana

Kelly Lafferty and second-place winner Dak Dillon graduated in spring and summer 2012 respectively, and consequently are not eligible to participate in the Championship.  As a result, the third-place winner, Sarah Hoffman qualifies for the National Multimedia Championship which takes place this June in San Francisco.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 53rd year also includes five writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions, and three additional multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

The Multimedia judges are:  Cory Tolbert Haik, Executive Producer for Digital News, The Washington Post, VA; Edward L. Esposito, VP, Information Media, Rubber City Media Group, OH; and Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX.

Western Kentucky University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points.  It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (tie); University of Nebraska-Lincoln (tie); University of Missouri; University of Montana (tie); Kent State University (tie); Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University; University of Iowa; University of Southern California. The final intercollegiate winners are announced in April.

To view the top finalists’ winning work, check the monthly winners section of the website.


Jan Watten,