Hearst Photo Semi-Finalists Selected



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the fourteen college photojournalism students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 51st annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  They are the top winners in the three 2010-2011 photo competitions and two finalists with the highest scores earned from multiple placements in the competitions:

Bryan J. Anselm, Western Kentucky University

Ross Brinkerhoff, Ohio University

Tyler Cacek, Western Kentucky University

Jessey Dearing, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Andrew Dickinson, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Jared Hamilton, Western Kentucky University

Greg Lindstrom, University of Montana

Jake May, Central Michigan University

Britney McIntosh, University of Kentucky

Thomas Plevik, University of Florida

Mackenzie Reiss, Syracuse University

Luke Sharrett, Western Kentucky University

Arkarsha Stevenson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Matt Walsh, University of Florida

These fourteen winners, selected from 220 entrants, will submit additional photo portfolios for the semi-final round of judging.  The judges will evaluate the portfolios and select six finalists to participate in the program’s National Championship held June 6 – 10, 2011 in San Francisco. During the Championship, the six photo finalists along with eight writing, five radio, five television and three multimedia finalists will complete spot news assignments, vying for additional scholarship awards of up to $5,000.

The photojournalism judges are:  Ken Geiger, Deputy Director of Photography, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA; Michael C. Norseng, Photo Director, Esquire Magazine, New York, NY.

There are 110 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 51st year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.


Jan C. Watten, program director


# # #