Hearst Photo Competition III Winners Named



San Francisco – Ten college photographers have been named finalists in the Picture Story/Series Competition of the 2010-2011 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  This was the third and final photojournalism competition of the academic year.

The winners were selected from among 58 entries submitted from 37 schools nationwide.  Four finalists, along with the top four finalists in the previous photo competitions and the two overall highest-scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging.  Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists.

There are 110 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs that are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

The top ten winners are:

First Place, $2,600 award, TYLER  CACEK, Western Kentucky University

Second Place, $2,000 award, CARLY  BRANTMEYER, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Third Place, $1,500 award, ROSS  BRINKERHOFF, Ohio University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, MACKENZIE  REISS, Syracuse University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, BRYAN  ANSELM, Western Kentucky University

Sixth Place, certificate, JANA  ASENBRENNEROVA,  San Francisco State University

Seventh Place, certificate, THOMAS  PLEVIK,  University of Florida

Eighth Place, certificate, ALEXANDRA  BRAWLEY,  University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Ninth Place, certificate, CAYCE  CLIFFORD,  Ohio University

Tenth Place, certificate, BRENDEN  NEVILLE, University of Missouri

In addition to Tyler Cacek, Ross Brinkerhoff, and Mackenzie Reiss, fifth-place winner Bryan Anselm will qualify for the semi-final round, as Carly Brantmeyer (third place) graduated in May 2010.

The top ten five winners’ journalism schools receive matching grants.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 51st year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970.  The program also includes six writing contests, three broadcast news competitions, and two multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

The photojournalism judges are:  Ken Geiger, Deputy Director of Photography, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA; Michael C. Norseng, Photo Director, Esquire Magazine, New York, NY.

Western Kentucky University has won first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the three photo competitions.  It is followed by: University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Ohio University; University of Florida; Central Michigan University; University of Missouri; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Indiana University; University of Montana; San Francisco State University.  The top three winning schools receive $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 respectively as the winners of the Hearst Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition.

Jan C. Watten, program director