Hearst Spot News Writing Winners Announced



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college spot news writing were announced today in the 51st annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to HAYLEY E. BRUCE, of University of Iowa . She will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article “Records Detail Hunninghake Case” published in The Daily Iowan. University of Iowa will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Hayley also qualifies for the National Writing Championship which takes place in San Francisco this June.
Other top ten winners are:

CAITLIN KEATING, Indiana University , second place, $2,000 scholarship
MATT MURRAY, University of Kentucky , third place, $1,500 scholarship
POLINA MARINOVA, University of Georgia , fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
SCOTT CARROLL, University of Memphis , fifth place, $1,000 scholarship
LAUREN FOX, University of Oregon , sixth place, certificate of merit
BRENNAN SMITH, Arizona State University , seventh place, certificate of merit
CONOR SHINE, University of Minnesota , eighth place, certificate of merit
NOLAN HICKS, University of Texas , Austin , ninth place, certificate of merit
PAIGE HUNTOON, University of Montana , tenth place, certificate of merit

Indiana University has won the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the six writing competitions of the academic year. They are followed by: University of Kansas ; University of Iowa ; Pennsylvania State University ; Arizona State University ; University of Nebraska-Lincoln ; University of Missouri ; University of Montana ; University of Oregon ; Northwestern University . The top three schools receive $10,000, $5,000 and $2,500 respectively. All top ten intercollegiate schools receive medallions.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions and two multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Peter Bhatia, Editor, The Oregonian; Ward Bushee, Editor and Executive Vice President, The San Francisco Chronicle; Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor in Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News.

83 students from 52 universities participated in the program’s final writing competition of this academic year. Samples of winning work can be viewed in the monthly winners section of the Web site, www.hearstawards.org which is updated shortly after each competition.

Contact: Jan C. Watten, program director

# # #