Hearst Broadcast Competition II Winners Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the student radio and television broadcast finalists selected in the January Journalism Awards Program broadcast competition.  The category for Competition Two was News.

The top five winners in both radio and television were selected from among 26 radio and 54 television entries submitted.  These winners, along with the top five finalists from both categories in Competition One, will submit additional tapes for a semi-final round of judging.  Following the semi-final round of judging, five in radio and five in television will be chosen to compete in the program’s national broadcast news Championships in San Francisco, along with winners of the writing and photojournalism competitions.

The top five radio finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals:

First Place, $2,000 award,  WALTER  STORHOLT,  U. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Second Place, $1,500 award,  BETH  CROUGHAN, Syracuse University
Third Place, $1,000 award,  SARA  CARMICHAEL,  Syracuse University
Fourth Place, $750 award,  BRIAN  BOHL,  Hofstra University
Fifth Place, $600 award,  ELIZABETH  NICOLE  ERWIN,  Murray State University

The top five television finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals:

First Place, $2,000 award,  JENNIFER  CARPENTER,  U. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Second Place, $1,500 award,  MAIKA  BAUERLE,  University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Third Place, $1,000 award,  G.  AARON   PATTERSON,  Pennsylvania State University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award,  BONNIE  BOLT,  Arizona State University
Fifth Place, $600 award,  MICHELLE  ASHWORTH,  Arizona State University

Other award winners in radio:

Sixth Place, $500 award,  ANDY  SCHWABENBAUER,  Pennsylvania State University
Seventh Place, $500 award,  ALEXANDRA  HILL,  University of Florida
Eighth Place, $500 award,  ADAM  RHEW,  University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, $500 award,  ERIC  SCHAFFER,  University of Maryland
Tenth Place, $500 award,  ROBERT  ARCAMONA,  Pennsylvania State University

Other award winners in television:

Sixth place, $500 award, BRETT  DENHAM,  Brigham Young University
Seventh Place, $500 award, THERESA  BOWMAN,  Northwestern University
Eighth Place, $500 award,  SHELLY  SCHWARTZ,  Syracuse University
Ninth Place, $500 award,  LOREN  CICALESE, Pennsylvania State University
Tenth Place, $500 award,  JESSICA  DRNEK,  San Jose State University

The schools of these award winning finalists receive matching grants.

These students placed among the top 20 in radio and will receive award certificates:

DANA  GRANILLO,  Arizona State University, eleventh place
MARCO  VILLARREAL,  Brigham Young University, twelfth place-tie
CHRISTOPHER  HRABE,  University of Missouri, twelfth place-tie
LINDSAY  ALVESTAD,  University of Montana, twelfth place-tie
JENNIFER  BORGET,  Brigham Young University, fifteenth place
SEAN  POWERS, University of Missouri, sixteenth place
KYLE  SEIG,  University of Florida, seventeenth place-tie
ANDREA  KLERIDES,  Hofstra University, seventeenth place-tie
MEGAN  BOWERS,  West Virginia University, nineteenth place
SAM  ESHELMAN,  Arizona State University, twentieth place
These students placed among the top 20 in television and will receive award certificates:

RANDY  GYLLENHAAL,  Elon University, eleventh place-tie
ANDREW  MARSON,  University of South Carolina, eleventh place-tie
MATHEW  MENDEZ,  University of Southern California, thirteenth place-tie
LORENZO  HALL,  University of Missouri, thirteenth place-tie
ANGELICA  DURIA,  University of Illinois, fifteenth place
JAMES  EVERETTS,  Kent State University, sixteenth place
STEVE  BUTERA,  West Virginia University, seventeenth place-tie
RYAN  S.  LUBY, University of Missouri, seventeenth place-tie
TESSA  MENTUS,  Syracuse University, seventeenth place-tie
MEGAN  ALBRIGHT,  University of Florida, twentieth place

The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast News Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the two radio and television competitions.  It is followed by: Syracuse University; Pennsylvania StateUniversity; University of Missouri; Hofstra University; Arizona State University;Northwestern University; University of Florida; Brigham Young University; West VirginiaUniversity. The top three winners will receive $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 respectively.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are:  Barbara Cochran, President,RTNDA, Washington, DC;  Michael Luckoff, President and General Manager, KGO AM Radio, Inc., San Francisco, CA; and Fred Young, Senior Vice President of News, Hearst-Argyle Television, New York, NY.

The 2007-2008 broadcast news competitions are held in 108 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.  The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to the Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program that for 48 years has included writing, photojournalism, and multimedia, and now offers awards totaling up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.



Jan C. Watten, Program Director