Hearst Personality/Profile Writing Winners



The top 20 winners in college personality/profile writing have been announced in The William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s 47th annual Journalism Awards Program.

TATIANA HENSLEY, a senior from Arizona State University, won first place. She will receive a $2,000 scholarship for her article from azcentral.com titled “Don Bolles: Cautious man, dedicated journalist.” Tatiana will also have the opportunity to compete in the National Writing Championship in San Francisco this June. Arizona State University’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Second place in the February contest went to KYLE ODEGARD, also from Arizona State University. He will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

Other scholarship winners:

JP EICHMILLER, Colorado State University, third place, $1,000 scholarship
MATT JARZEMSKY, University of Missouri, fourth place, $750 scholarship
MARK VIERTHALER, University of Kansas, fifth place, $600 scholarship
JENNA R. JOHNSON, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, sixth place, $500 scholarship
CHRIS DeLOTELL, University of Kentucky, seventh place, $500 scholarship
MARGARET POE, University of Iowa, eighth place, $500 scholarship
FRED A. DAVIS III, University of Kansas, ninth place, $500 scholarship
CHRISTINE FERRER, San Francisco State University, tenth place, $500 scholarship

The University of Kansas remains in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated school points from five out of six writing competitions. They are followed by: University of Missouri; Arizona State University; California State University, Fullerton; University of Kentucky; Northwestern University; University of Montana; University of Georgia; University of Iowa; Pennsylvania State University. The final winners will be named next month following the last competition of this academic year.

The Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism, two radio and two television broadcast news competitions, with championship finals in all divisions held at the culmination of the program year.

Undergraduate accredited schools of journalism in the are eligible to participate in the program, which awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are: Pat Andrews, Assistant Managing Editor, The Miami Herald, Pembroke Pines, FL; Stephen Buckley, Managing Editor, The St. Petersburg Times, FL, and Arthur S. Brisbane, Former Senior Vice President, Knight Ridder, Inc., Monte Sereno, CA.

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of merit:

PETE DELMOE, University of Montana, eleventh place
JULIE ANNE INES, California State University, Fullerton, twelfth place
JOHN W. COX, University of Florida, thirteenth place
ERIC MANDEL, University of Iowa, fourteenth place
TIFFANY C. DOW, University of Minnesota, fifteenth place-tie
KRISTA NIGHTENGALE, University of Oklahoma, fifteenth place-tie
NICKY CORBETT, Syracuse University, fifteenth place-tie
AMY BRITTAIN, Louisiana State University, fifteenth place-tie
DAVID THILL, Eastern Illinois University, nineteenth place
BRIAN JANOSCH, Indiana University, twentieth place

There were 109 students from 63 universities and colleges participating in the program’s Personality/Profile Writing Competition. For examples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the website.
Jan Watten
415-543-6033, ext. 308