Hearst Photo Picture Story/Series Winners


Twenty college photographers have been named finalists in the Picture Story/Series Competition of the 2006-2007 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. This was the third and final photojournalism competition of this academic year, entered by 45 students nationwide.

The top four winners, along with the top four finalists in the previous two competitions, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging this June. Of those, six photojournalists will be chosen to compete in the program’s national photojournalism championships in San Francisco, along with winners in the writing and broadcast news competitions.

The annual photojournalism competitions are held in member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

The top four finalists are:
First Place, $2,000 award, EDWARD LINSMIER, Western Kentucky University
Second Place, $1,500 award, MORGAN PETROSKI, University of Florida
Third Place, $1,000 award, CARL KIILSGAARD, Western Kentucky University
Fourth Place, $750 award, MATT RYERSON, University of Iowa

Other award winners are:
Fifth Place, $600 award, COURTNEY POTTER, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Sixth Place, $500 award, JOE BUGLEWICZ, University of Texas, Austin
Seventh Place, $500 award, LANE CHRISTIANSEN, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
Eighth Place, $500 award, CELIA TOBIN, University of Florida
Ninth Place, $500 award, MAX BITTLE, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
Tenth Place, $500 award, KATIE D. RAUSCH, Michigan State University
Other students who placed among the top 20 in the photojournalism competition and will receive award certificates are:

JEANA-DEE ALLEN, Michigan State University, eleventh place
ED OU, University of Southern California, twelfth place
CARLA ACEVEDO ELDREDGE, California State University, Northridge, thirteenth place
IKURU KUWAJIMA, University of Missouri, fourteenth place-tie
JOHN TULLY, University of Missouri, fourteenth place-tie
JILL WOODBECK, Central Michigan University, sixteenth place
JEREMIAH ARMENTA, Arizona State University, seventeenth place
KARLA AMAYA, San Francisco State University, eighteenth place-tie
LINDSAY ADLER, Syracuse University, eighteenth place-tie
MARGARITA BILBREY, Ball State University, twentieth place

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program, which is now in its 47th year, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. Scholarship awards, ranging from $1,500 to $5,000, are presented to the finalists following the National Championships. In addition to the photojournalism competitions, the program also includes six writing and four broadcast news competitions. Annually, up to $500,000 in student scholarships and matching grants to the students’ schools are distributed.

The photojournalism judges are: Leslie A. White, Director of Photography, The Dallas Morning News, Texas; Pim Van Hemmen, Assistant Managing Editor/Photography, The Star-Ledger, Newark, New Jersey; and Janet Reeves, Director of Photography, The Rocky Mountain News, Denver, Colorado.

Western Kentucky University placed first in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated school points from the three photo competitions. They are followed by: University of Florida; University of Missouri; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale; San Francisco State University; Arizona State University; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; University of North Texas; and Ball State University.

For examples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of this website which is updated shortly after each competition.
# # #
Contact: Jan C. Watten
415-543-6033, ext. 308