Hearst Broadcast News Competition Winners


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the student radio and television broadcast finalists of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program Broadcast Competition. The category for Competition II was News.

The top five winners in both radio and television, along with the top five finalists from both categories in the Features Competition, will submit additional tapes for the semi-final round of judging. Following that round of judging, five finalists in radio and five in television will be chosen to compete in the program’s National Broadcast News Championships in San Francisco, along with winners in the writing and photojournalism competitions.

The top five radio finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals are:
First Place, $2,000 award, DAVID KLATT, Pennsylvania State University
Second Place, $1,500 award, DANIELLE WOOD, Brigham Young University
Third Place, $1,000 award, MARTHA CASTANEDA, Arizona State University
Fourth Place, $750 award, JEREMY L. POND, Abilene Christian University
Fifth Place, $600 award, BENJAMIN STEWART, Northwestern University

The top five television finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals are:
First Place, $2,000 award, McKENZIE L. YORK, Western Kentucky University
Second Place, $1,500 award, AMANDA GOODMAN, Arizona State University
Third Place, $1,000 award, RYAN FAMULINER, University of Missouri
Fourth Place, $750 award, JOY HOWE, University of South Carolina
Fifth Place, $600 award, PAUL J. GESSLER, Marshall University
The following is the list of additional award winners in radio. The schools of the top ten award winning finalists receive matching grants.

Sixth Place, $500 award, MOLLY O’BRIEN, Arizona State University
Seventh Place, $500 award, MATTHEW PAPAYCIK, Pennsylvania State University
Eighth Place, $500 award, ADAM W. RHEW, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, $500 award, LENA CABRERA, University of Florida
Tenth Place, $500 award, MARK OLEXIK, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
These students placed among the top 20 in radio and will receive award certificates:

K’LYNN SLOAN, University of Montana, eleventh place
JENNIFER BORGET, Brigham Young University, twelfth place
MICHAEL LOPARDI, Syracuse University, thirteenth place
JESSICA N. LARCHE’, Florida A&M University, fourteenth place-tie
SEAN POWERS, University of Missouri, fourteenth place-tie
ALLISON VINCENT, Western Kentucky University, fourteenth place-tie
LORILEE VICTORINO, University of Florida, seventeenth place
SARA CARMICHAEL, Syracuse University, eighteenth place
KARLA K. LEVEGUE, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, nineteenth place
MATTHEW SHORTIS, Hofstra University, twentieth place
The following is the list of additional award winners in television. The schools of the top ten award winning finalists receive matching grants.

Sixth Place, $500 award, ADRIAN WHITSETT, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Seventh Place, $500 award, LAYRON LIVINGSTON, University of Texas, Austin
Eighth Place, $500 award, JASON DUNNING, University of Florida
Ninth Place, $500 award, MEGHAN PACKER, Elon University
Tenth Place, $500 award, HEIDI ZHOU, Northwestern University
These students placed among the top 20 in television and will receive award certificates:

RYAN KRUGER, University of Missouri, eleventh place
JACKIE CAIN, West Virginia University, twelfth place
ALEXANDREA DENIS, University of South Florida, thirteenth place
WHITNEY GIVENS, University of Iowa, fourteenth place
ALEXANDRA VILLARREAL, U. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, fifteenth place-tie
KEATON FUCHS, University of Oklahoma, fifteenth place-tie
THOMAS HENDRICK, University of Colorado, seventeenth place-tie
HAILEY F. GINDLESPERGER, Arizona State University, seventeenth place-tie
TED LAND, University of Illinois, nineteenth place-tie
JENIFFER A. BERRY, Texas Christian University, nineteenth place-tie
Arizona State University placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast News Competition with the highest accumulated school points from Competitions I and II in radio and television. It is followed by: Brigham Young University; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Syracuse University; University of Florida; Western Kentucky University; University of Missouri; Pennsylvania State University; University of Montana; University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Felicia Middlebrooks, Morning Anchor & Correspondent, WBBM News Radio 780, Chicago, IL; Tom Negovan, Anchor/Reporter, WGN-TV, Chicago, IL; and Linda Sullivan, President & General Manager, KNTV, San Francisco, CA.

The 2006 – 2007 broadcast news competitions are held in member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs. The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to the Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program that for 47 years has included writing and news photography competitions, and now offers awards totaling up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. For examples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of our website, www.hearstawards.org, which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan C. Watten, Program Director
415.543.6033, ext. 308