Hearst Multimedia III Winners Named


San Francisco – The winners in college multimedia journalism were announced today in the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. The category of this competition was Enterprise.  37 entries from 22 schools were submitted in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Kaylee Everly, a senior from University of Nebraska-Lincoln.  Kaylee will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning multimedia piece titled “Life among the dead” published in hutch&stuff of HutchNews.com.  University of Nebraska-Lincoln will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Kaylee also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Championship this June in Washington, DC.

Other multimedia scholarship winners are:

Second place, $2,000 scholarship, Shelby Wolfe, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Third place, $1,500 scholarship, Justin Philalack, Western Kentucky University

Fourth place, $1,000 scholarship, Rachel Leathe, University of Montana

Fifth place, $1,000 scholarship, Chris Janjic, Syracuse University

Sixth Place, certificate, Louise Johns, University of Montana

Seventh Place, certificate, Zac Boesch, University of Missouri

Eighth Place, certificate, Jun Ma, University of North Texas

Ninth Place, certificate, Melissa Key, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Tenth Place, certificate, Hannah Glennon, Colorado State University

The 54th annual Journalism Awards Program includes five writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, one radio competition, two television competitions, and three additional multimedia competitions.  The program offers up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends annually.

The Multimedia judges are:  Cory Tolbert Haik, Executive Producer for digital news, The Washington Post, VA; Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; Kate O’Brian, President, Al Jazeera America, New York, NY.

Western Kentucky University is in first place after this third competition in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points.  It is followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Missouri; University of Montana; Syracuse University; Pennsylvania State University; Arizona State University; San Francisco State University; University of Southern California. The final intercollegiate winners will be announced in April following the last multimedia competition.  The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.


#  #  #


Contact:  Jan Watten