Hearst Multimedia III Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia III/Enterprise Reporting Competition of the 2016-2017 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

There were 56 entries from 31 schools submitted in the third of our four multimedia competitions.

First Place has been awarded to Drea Cornejo, a senior from University of Florida. Drea will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning multimedia piece titled “In the Path of the Pipeline” published on WUFT.org. Drea also qualifies for the Hearst National Multimedia Championship held
May 29 – June 2, 2017 in San Francisco.

The other top five finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Gabriel Scarlett, Western Kentucky University
Third place, $1,500 award, Lauren Nolan, Western Kentucky University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Casey Toth, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Claire Collins, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Tyler Schank, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Seventh Place, certificate, Shuyao Chen, Pennsylvania State University
Eighth Place, certificate, Maggie Andresen, Temple University
Ninth Place, certificate, Jake Green, University of Montana
Tenth Place, certificate, Amber Baudler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Western Kentucky University placed first in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the three multimedia competitions held this far. It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Florida; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; San Francisco State University; University of Missouri; Pennsylvania State University; Northwestern University; Syracuse University; Kent State University. The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced after the multimedia IV competition is completed. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Multimedia judges are: Tiffany Campbell, Managing Editor, Digital, WBUR 90.9, www.wbur.org; Kenny Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, FL; and Mark Morris, Senior Editor/Multimedia, The Sacramento Bee.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 57th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.