2017 Hearst Television Semi-Finalists Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the ten television broadcast students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 57th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program. They are the top winners in the 2016-2017 Features and News competitions.

The 2016-2017 Television semi-finalists are:

Michelle Chavez, University of Maryland
Lauren Day, University of Southern California
Adriana De Alba, Arizona State University
Robert DiRienzo, Temple University
Andrew Feather, Elon University
Jesse Kirsch, Northwestern University
Maggie Lorenz, University of Florida
Meghan Mistry, Syracuse University.
Brad Streicher, University of Southern California
Cole Sullivan, University of Southern California

These winners, whose work was selected from 168 entries entered in our monthly competitions, will submit additional stories for the semi-final round of judging. The judges will evaluate the entries and select five finalists to participate in the program’s National Championship held in San Francisco May 29-June 2, 2017. During the Championship, the five Television finalists, along with eight writing, five radio, six photo and five multimedia finalists will complete spot assignments, vying for additional scholarship awards of up to $5,000.

The judges, all award winning broadcast professionals, are: Harvey Nagler, recently retired Vice President, Radio, CBS News, New York, NY; Lloyd Siegel, former Vice President of News Partnerships, NBC News, New York; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

106 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools are eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The Journalism Awards Program added broadcast news to the competition in 1988, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.