2017 Hearst Personality/Profile Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college personality/profile writing were announced today in the 57th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

There were 114 profile entries received from 62 journalism schools in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Lauren Brown-Hulme a junior from University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Lauren receives a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “Shepherd of the Streets” published in projects.newsnetnebraska.org. University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s College of Journalism and Mass Communications will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Lauren also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held May 29 – June 2, 2017 in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:
Kyle Melnick, University of Maryland, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Stetson Payne, Oklahoma State University, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Taylor Telford, Indiana University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Nathan Ruiz, Oklahoma State University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Austin Anderson, Iowa State University, sixth place
Claire Chandler, University of Montana, seventh place
Natasha Rausch, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, eighth place
Sam Fortier, Syracuse University, ninth place
Nick Buzzelli, Kent State University, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the four writing competitions held thus far. They are followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; Oklahoma State University; University of Maryland; Syracuse University; University of Montana; University of Missouri; New York University; Northwestern University.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com; Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; and David Zeeck, Publisher, The News Tribune, WA.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.