Hearst Multimedia Finalists Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the five college multimedia students who have been selected as finalists in the 52nd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  They are the winners of multimedia competition I – Features, multimedia competition II – The Human Condition and multimedia competition III – News, plus two students with the high score from those competitions.

The multimedia finalists are:

Zack Conkle, Western Kentucky University

Sarah Hoffman, University of Missouri

Jonathan Kasbe, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Kelley King, Pennsylvania State University

Jonathan Reed, University of Alabama

These five winners, whose work was selected from 142 entries submitted from 49 schools, will participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program’s National Championships held June 4 – 8, 2012 in San Francisco.  During the Championship, the multimedia finalists along with finalists in writing, radio, television photojournalism will complete spot news assignments, vying for additional scholarship awards of up to $5,000.

The Multimedia judges are:  Cory Tolbert Haik, Executive Producer, News, Innovations and Strategic Projects, The Washington Post, Arlington, VA; Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA; and Jennifer Sizemore, VP/ Editor-in-Chief, Msnbc.om, Executive Producer, NBC News.

There are 106 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  The Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competition in 1970, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.


Jan C. Watten, program director