Hearst Breaking News Writing Winners Named



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college breaking news writing were announced today in the 52nd annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to ANASTASIA  ORSO of Pennsylvania State University. Anastasia will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article “Sandusky charged; Curley, Schultz step down” published in The Daily Collegian. Pennsylvania State University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other top five scholarship winners are:

BECCA  CLEMONS, University of Kentucky, second place, $2,000 scholarship

KELLY  PARSONS, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, third place, $1,500 scholarship

COLTON  TOTLAND, University of Oregon, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

TAYLOR  MOAK, University of Kentucky, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

CHARLES  SCUDDER, Indiana University, sixth place

FRANNIE  SPROULS, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, seventh place

ALEXANDER  ANGERT, Pennsylvania State University, eighth place

ANDREA  GALLO, Louisiana State University, ninth place

HARRY  PLUMER, University of Missouri, tenth place

Pennsylvania State University has won the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the five writing competitions.  They are followed by: Indiana University; Northwestern University; University of Missouri; Arizona State University; University of Kansas; University of Oregon; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Florida; University of Kentucky. The top three winners earn $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 grants respectively. The top ten winners are awarded medallions.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions and four multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor-in-Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News; Ward Bushee, Editor and Executive Vice President, The San Francisco Chronicle; and Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

There were 81 students from 46 universities who participated in this competition. Samples of winning work can be viewed in the monthly winners section of the website which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan C. Watten, program director