Hearst Writing Finalists Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the eight undergraduate journalism students from around the country who will compete in the 52nd annual National Writing Championships of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The finalists include five winners in the monthly writing competitions and three entrants with the highest accumulated scores from these competitions.  From the 535 writing entries submitted in this year’s writing competitions, these eight finalists will participate in various spot assignments, competing for additional scholarship awards ranging from $1,500 to $5,000 in the Program’s National Championships, held in San Francisco, June 4 – 8, 2012.

Also competing in the National Championships will be six photojournalism finalists, five radio broadcast finalists, five television broadcast finalists and five multimedia finalists.

The 2012 National Writing Championship finalists are:

BIZ  CARSON, Indiana University

ELLEN  JEAN  HIRST, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

TREY  MILLER, Pennsylvania State University

TAYLOR  MOAK, University of Kentucky

ANASTASIA  ORSO, Pennsylvania State University

KELLY  PARSONS, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

WESTON PHIPPEN, Arizona State University

JON  SILMAN, University of Florida

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor-in-Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News; Ward Bushee, Editor and Executive Vice President, The San Francisco Chronicle; and Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

Presently, 106 colleges and universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools are eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  Funded and administered for 52 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the Journalism Program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends annually


Jan Watten, program director


.#  #  #