Hearst Multimedia Competition II Winners Named



San Francisco – The top ten winners in college multimedia journalism were announced today in the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  The category of this competition was News.

First Place has been awarded to SAVANNAH  SMITH, a senior from Pennsylvania State University. Savannah will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning multimedia piece titled “Experimental treatment helps Philipsburg girl battle back against cancer.” Pennsylvania State University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Savannah also qualifies for the National Multimedia Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.

Other multimedia top five scholarship winners are:

Second Place, $2,000 award, JULIA  MICHELLE  WALL, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Third Place, $1,500 award, ANDREW  DICKINSON, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, BEN  SEVERANCE, Western Kentucky University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, MORGAN  SPIEHS, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, SAM  WILSON, University of Montana

Seventh Place, certificate, ALLISON  RUSSELL, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Eighth Place, certificate, KATELYN  BROWN, Kent State University

Ninth Place, certificate, EMILY  HOERNER, University of Iowa

Tenth Place, certificate, GREG  ASCIUTTO, University of Southern California

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 53rd year also includes five writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions, and three additional multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

The Multimedia judges are:  Cory Tolbert Haik, Executive Producer for Digital News, The Washington Post, VA; Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Editor, Sacramento Bee, CA; Edward L. Esposito, VP, Information Media, Rubber City Media Group, OH.

Western Kentucky University is in first place after this second competition in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points.  It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Missouri; Pennsylvania State University; Kent State University; Syracuse University; University of Montana; University of Southern California; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale. The final intercollegiate winners are announced in April.

To view the top finalists’ winning work, check the monthly winners section of the website.

#  #  #


Jan Watten