Hearst Multimedia Competition I Winners Named



San Francisco – The top ten winners in college multimedia journalism were announced today in the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  The category of this competition was Narrative Multimedia Storytelling – Features.

First Place has been awarded to ZACK CONKLE, a spring 2012 graduate from Western Kentucky University.  Zack will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning multimedia piece titled “Wright’s Law.” Western Kentucky University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other multimedia top five scholarship winners are:

Second Place, $2,000 award, LESLYE  DAVIS, Western Kentucky University

Third Place, $1,500 award, KATHRYN  CARLSON, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, MALCOLM  KOH, University of Missouri

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, CHELSIE  CORSO, Kent State University

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, SAMANTHA  OKAZAKI, Syracuse University

Seventh Place, certificate, JON  AUGUSTINE, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Eighth Place, certificate, KIRSTEN  CELO, Syracuse University

Ninth Place, certificate, ZHENRU  ZHANG, Iowa State University of Science & Technology

Tenth Place, certificate, SAMUEL  MEANS, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale

Both Zack Conkle and second-place winner Leslye Davis graduated in the spring of 2012, and consequently are not eligible to participate in the Championship per our guidelines.  As a result, the third place winner, KATHRYN CARLSON, from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, qualifies to participate in the National Multimedia Championship this June in San Francisco.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 53rd year also includes five writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions, and three additional multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

The Multimedia judges are:  Cory Tolbert Haik, Executive Producer, News, Innovations and Strategic Projects, The Washington Post, VA; Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Editor, Sacramento Bee, CA; Edward L. Esposito, VP, Information Media, Rubber City Media Group, OH.

Western Kentucky University is in first place after this first competition in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points.  It is followed by: Syracuse University; University of North Carolina At Chapel Hill (tie); University of Missouri (tie); University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Kent State University; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale (tie), University of Montana (tie); Iowa State University; San Francisco State University. The final intercollegiate winners are announced in April.

To view the top finalists’ winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the website.


Jan Watten,