Hearst Sports Writing Winners Named



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college sports writing were announced today in the 53rd  annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to CLAIRE  WISEMAN, a senior from Indiana University. Claire will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “107-2: Beyond the Score’” published in the Indiana Daily Student. Indiana University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Claire also qualifies for the National Writing Championship which takes place in San Francisco in June 2013.

Other top five scholarship winners are:

Tyler Jett, University of Florida, second place, $2,000 scholarship

Jayson Jenks, University of Kansas, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Faiz Siddiqui, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Daniel Jenkins, Pennsylvania State University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

Charles Scudder, Indiana University, sixth place

Kyle Fredrickson, Oklahoma State University, seventh place

Kevin Kaplan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, eighth place

Andrew Ward, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, ninth place

Luke Johnson, Louisiana State University, tenth place

Indiana University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the third of five writing competitions.  They are followed by:  Pennsylvania State University; Northwestern University; University of Florida; University of Kansas; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Arizona State University; University of Missouri; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Syracuse University. The final intercollegiate writing winners will be named upon the completion of the five writing competitions.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions and four multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Ward Bushee, Editor and Executive Vice President, The San Francisco Chronicle; Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and John Temple, Managing Editor, The Washington Post.

There were 109 students from 65 universities who participated in the program’s third writing competition of this academic year.  Samples of winning work can be viewed in the monthly winners section of our Web site, www.hearstawards.org, which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan C. Watten, Program Director


# # #