Hearst Enterprise Reporting Winners Named



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college enterprise reporting were announced today in the 53rd  annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to RACHEL  JANIK, a sophomore from Northwestern University. Rachel will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “From ‘No Homo Promo’ to ‘Model for the Nation’” published in the Medill Equal Media Project. Northwestern University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Rachel also qualifies for the National Writing Championship which takes place in San Francisco in June 2013.

Other top five scholarship winners are:

Mary Kenney, Indiana University second place, $2,000 scholarship

Claire Wiseman, Indiana University third place, $1,500 scholarship

Casey McDermott, Pennsylvania State University fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Michael Cerullo, University of Connecticut fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

Kathleen Ronayne, Syracuse University, sixth place

Tyler Jett, University of Florida, seventh place

Jessica Testa, Arizona State University, eighth place

Josh Barone, University of Missouri, ninth place

Lauren Mills, University of Iowa, tenth place

Indiana University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first two writing competitions.  They are followed by: Northwestern University; Pennsylvania State University; Arizona State University; University of Missouri (tie); University of Florida (tie); Syracuse University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Drake University; University of Kansas.

The final intercollegiate writing winners will be named upon the completion of the five writing competitions.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions and four multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Ward Bushee, Editor and Executive Vice President, The San Francisco Chronicle; Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and John Temple, Managing Editor, The Washington Post.

There were 92 students from 52 universities who participated in the program’s second writing competition of this academic year.  Samples of winning work can be viewed in the monthly winners section of the website.


Jan C. Watten, Program Director
415.908.4565 or