2021-22 Hearst Explanatory Reporting Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Explanatory Reporting Competition of the 2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 117 entries from 67 schools submitted in the second writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Elizabeth Moore, a senior from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Elizabeth will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning article “Married for money: These students tied the knot to pay for college”. Elizabeth also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held in May 2022.

The other top finalists are:

Second place, $2,000 award, Mia Speier, University of Southern California
Third place, $1,500 award, Rachel Mipro, Louisiana State University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Chris Howley, Arizona State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Darci Moon Gold, Temple University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, Jaylen Williams, Howard University
Seventh Place, certificate, Preston Shoemaker, Pennsylvania State University
Eighth Place, certificate, Emma Uber, Indiana University
Ninth Place, certificate, Katherine Lester, Texas Christian University
Tenth Place, certificate, Mikenzie Hammel, Arizona State University

Arizona State University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the two writing competitions held thus far.
They are followed by:
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Texas Christian University; University of Florida; University of Southern California; New York University; Temple University; University of Montana; Syracuse University-tie;
Indiana University-tie; Stony Brook University-tie.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. The final intercollegiate
winners will be announced after the completion of all five writing competitions in May.

The writing judges are: Kimbriell Kelly, Washington Bureau Chief, The Los Angeles Times, CA; Larry Kramer, retired President and Publisher, USA Today, VA; Maria Reeve, Editor-in-Chief, The Houston Chronicle, TX.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 62nd year, also includes two photojournalism, one audio, two
television, and four multimedia competitions. The program offers up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants
and stipends.

There are 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs that are eligible to participate in the Hearst monthly competitions.