2021-22 Hearst Audio News/Features Competition Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the 2021-2022 Journalism Awards Program’s Audio News and/or Features Competition. Five audio winners qualify for the National Audio Championship, along with qualifying television, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists. There were 67 entries from 41 universities submitted in this competition.

First Place, $3,000 award goes to Chase Porter, University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
Chase is a Spring 2021 graduate, and per program guidelines, is not eligible to participate in the National Championship.

The top audio winners who qualify for the 2022 National Audio Championship:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Jayda Williams, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third Place, $1,500 award, Aurora Berry, University of Texas at Austin
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Dustin Wilcox, Murray State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Daniel Myrick, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Sixth Place, Certificate, Carolina Garibay, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

The schools of the top five award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

The seventh-through-tenth place finalists are:
Seventh Place, certificate, Meleah Lyden, University of Florida
Eighth Place, certificate, Peyton Butler, University of Montana
Ninth Place, certificate, Yaw Bonsu, Hofstra University
Tenth Place, certificate, Rachel Luscher, Hofstra University

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the Audio and TV I Competitions.
They are followed by:
University of Florida, Syracuse University, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, University of Missouri, University of Texas at Austin, Brigham Young University, Pennsylvania State University, University of Montana, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Final intercollegiate scores will be announced after the TV II competition. The top three winning schools earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The audio competition Judges are: Candy Altman, retired Vice President of News, Hearst Television, NY; Holly Quan, Reporter/Anchor, KCBS Radio, CA; Joe Rovitto, President, Clemensen & Rovitto LLC, PA.

The 62nd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added broadcast journalism to the competitions in 1988. The Program also includes five writing, two photojournalism, two television and four multimedia competitions
offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

There are 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs eligible to participate in the Hearst monthly competitions.