2021-22 Hearst Sports Writing Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Sports Writing Competition of the 2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 119 entries from 66 schools submitted in the third writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Christopher Cicchiello, a senior from Syracuse University. Christopher will
receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning article “Why doesn’t Syracuse University pay Otto the Oranges?”
Christopher also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held in May 2022.

The other top finalists are:
Second place, $2,000 award, Sébastien Kraft, Pennsylvania State University
Third place, $1,500 award, Zachary Huber, University of Florida
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Abby Barmore, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Andrew Destin, Pennsylvania State University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are
Sixth Place, certificate, Braden Ramsey, University of Kentucky
Seventh Place, certificate, Amiliano Fragoso, Arizona State University
Eighth Place, certificate, Mason Young, University of Oklahoma
Ninth Place, certificate, Gabrielle Ducharme, Arizona State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Robert Read, University of Iowa

Arizona State University is in the lead with first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the three of five writing competitions held thus far.
They are followed by:
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Florida; Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University; University of Southern California; Stony Brook University; Texas Christian University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; New York University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.
The final intercollegiate a winners will be announced after the completion of all five writing competitions in May.

The writing judges are: Kimbriell Kelly, Washington Bureau Chief, The Los Angeles Times, CA; Larry Kramer, retired President and Publisher, USA Today, VA; Maria Reeve, Editor-in-Chief, The Houston Chronicle, TX. Former judge Dwayne Bray, Journalist-at-Large, ESPN’s The Undefeated, assisted with judging this competition.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 62nd year, also includes two photojournalism, one audio, two television, and four multimedia competitions. The program offers up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends annually.

There are 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs that are eligible to participate in the Hearst monthly competitions.

# # #