Hearst Broadcast Competition Winners Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the broadcast finalists selected in the Journalism Awards Program’s Radio News & Features Competition and Television Features Competition.

The top winners in the radio broadcast competition, selected from among 45 entries, qualify for the National Radio Broadcast News Championship in June 2013.  The top five television winners, selected from 80 entries, along with the top five finalists from the television competition II, which will be held in March, will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging.  Following the semi-finals, five television finalists will be chosen to participate in the Championship, along with the radio, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

The top radio finalists, qualifying for the Championship are:

First Place, $2,600 award, Jessica Murri, University of Montana

Second Place, $2,000 award, Emanuele Berry, Michigan State University

Third Place, $1,500 award,  Nick Franck, Arizona State University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award,  Lanny Holstein, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Fifth Place, $1,000 award,  Michael Rodriguez, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Other winners in radio who will be receiving certificates of merit are:

Sixth Place,  Grace Joyal, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Seventh Place,  Thea Card, Michigan State University

Eighth Place,  Nick Edmonds, University of Southern California

Ninth Place,  Jessica Reese, University of Missouri

Tenth Place,  Denan Jones, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

The top five television finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals are:

First Place, Lorne Fultonberg, Syracuse University

Second Place, Cassia Reynolds, New York University

Third Place, Camila Orti, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Fourth Place, Steven Gallo, University of Florida

Fifth Place, Arthur Nienhuis, University of Minnesota

Other winners in television who will be receiving certificates of merit are:

Sixth Place, Rachel Polansky, Pennsylvania State University

Seventh Place, Jack Highberger, Arizona State University

Eight Place, Samuel Rong, Northwestern University

Ninth Place, Christina Fan, Northwestern University

Tenth Place, Bonnie Jordan Campo, University of Oklahoma

The schools of award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

Arizona State University placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast News Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first radio and television competitions.  It is followed by; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Michigan State University; University of Florida; Northwestern University; Syracuse University; University of Missouri; University of Southern California; Pennsylvania State University.  The final winners (the top three of whom will collect $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 respectively) will be named in April following television competition II/news.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Edward Esposito, Vice President, Information Media, Rubber City Radio Group, Akron, OH;  Kate O’Brian, Senior Vice President, ABC News, New York, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst-Argyle Television, Yardley, PA.

The 2012-2013 broadcast news competitions are held in 106 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.  The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to the Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program that for 53 years has included writing, photojournalism, and multimedia, and now offers awards totaling up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

For the winning work, please check out the monthly winners section of the Web site which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan C. Watten, Program Director