Personality/Profile Writing Competition Winners




The top 20 winners in college Personality Profile Writing have been announced in the 48th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program.  101 students from 60 schools nationwide participated.  The Hearst Journalism Awards are held in member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.
The first place winner is ANGELA  HAUPT, from the Pennsylvania State University.  Angela will receive a $2,000 scholarship for her story in The Lion’s Roar  titled “Faculty Member Champions Academic Freedom.”  Pennsylvania State University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:

CRISTOF  TRAUDES, University of Missouri, second place, $1,500 scholarship
CAITLIN  FROST, University of Oregon, third place, $1,000 scholarship
WESLEY  MARTIN, Florida A&M University, fourth place, $750 scholarship
ANDREW  M.  STEWART, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, fifth place, $600 scholarship
BRIAN  JANOSCH, Indiana University, sixth place, $500 scholarship
TAVIA  GREEN, Western Kentucky University, seventh place, $500 scholarship
EPHRAIM  PAYNE, University of Oregon, eighth place, $500 scholarship
JORDAN  WEISSMANN, Northwestern University, ninth place, $500 scholarship
GEREMY  BASS, University of Maryland, tenth place, $500 scholarship

University of Kansas is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated school points from the first five (out of six) writing competitions.  It is followed by: University ofMissouri; Northwestern University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Oregon; University ofMontana; Pennsylvania State University; Indiana University; University of Georgia; University of Iowa.  The final winners will be named in April following the last writing competition of this academic year.
Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of merit are:
ANNA  WIEGENSTEIN, University of Iowa, eleventh place
SARA  WILLIAMS, Kent State University, twelfth place-tie
TODD  SOUTH, University of Georgia, twelfth place-tie
SARAH  NEFF,  University of Kansas, fourteenth place-tie
DEBORAH  NEFFA, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, fourteenth place-tie
DOMINICK  TAO, University of  Florida, sixteenth place
NATALIE  AVON, Indiana University, seventeenth place-tie
KRYSTAL  BICK, University of Nevada, seventeenth place-tie
ROMAN  STUBBS, University of Montana, seventeenth place-tie
MELANIE  HICKEN, Syracuse University, seventeenth place-tie

The Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six writing competitions, three photojournalismcompetitions, two radio and two television broadcast news competitions, and one multimedia competition with championship finals in all divisions (except multimedia).

Currently, 108 undergraduate accredited schools of journalism in the are eligible to participate in the program, which awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Arthur S. Brisbane, Former Senior Vice President,Knight Ridder, Inc., Monte Sereno, CA; Stephen Buckley, Managing Editor, The St. Petersburg Times, FL; and Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor, Houston Chronicle, TX.
#  #  #
Contact:    Jan C. Watten