2022-23 Hearst Investigative Reporting – Team/Individual Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Investigative Reporting competition of the 2022-2023 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

There were 82 entries from 53 schools submitted in the final writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Nic Napier and Nadia Scharf, from Indiana University.
Nick and Nadia receive a $3,000 scholarship for the article “Big buck, big buyouts: Big Ten schools spend millions clearing
coaching rosters” published in Idsnews.com. Nick also qualifies for the National Championship in June 2023.

The other top finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Alasdair McNinch, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third Place, $1,500 award, Lucinda Warnke, University of Georgia
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Cambri Guest, University of Southern California
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Wyatt Cote, Faith Greenberg, Hudson Kamphausen, Jake Kelly,
Meredith Veilleux,
University of Connecticut

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, Molly Blanco, Kylee Hauter, Amber Mohmand, Iowa State University
Seventh Place, Natalie Kerr, Brooke Beyer, Haajrah Gilani, Temple University
Eighth Place, Katelyn Welsh and Nancy Vazquez, University of Nevada, Reno
Ninth Place, Domonique Tolliver, Loyola University New Orleans
Tenth Place, Albert Serna and Albert Gregory, San Francisco State University

Pennsylvania State University has won first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest
accumulated student points from the five writing competitions held this year.

They are followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Indiana University; University of Florida; University of Missouri; University of Montana; Arizona State University; University of Iowa; University of Maryland; Ball State University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The writing judges are: Maria Reeve, Executive Editor, The Houston Chronicle; Sue Campbell, Editorial Director, AME/Features, Star Tribune Magazine; David Callaway, Founder and Editor, Callaway Climate Insights.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 63rd year, also includes two photojournalism, one audio, two
television, and four multimedia competitions. The program offers up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.