2022-23 Hearst Multimedia Digital News/Enterprise Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia Digital News/Enterprise Competition of the 2022-2023 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

First Place has been awarded to Angelina Katsanis, a senior from the University of North Carolina
at Chapel Hill.
Angelina receives a $3,000 scholarship for the winning piece “(re)becoming MOHAGANY” and qualifies for the National Multimedia Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.

The other top finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Brenna Pepke, Western Kentucky University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Kate Brennan, Syracuse University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Allie Schallert, Western Kentucky University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Andrew Lewis, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Julia Lin, University of Southern California
Seventh Place, certificate, Corina Vera, Florida International University
Eighth Place, certificate, Eden McCall, University of Oregon
Ninth Place, certificate, Mimi Geller, University of Southern California
Tenth Place, certificate, Tom Isaacson, Colorado State University

Western Kentucky University is currently in first place in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from three of four multimedia competitions.
They are followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Florida; Syracuse University;
University of Southern California; University of Missouri; Pennsylvania State University; San Francisco State
University; Brigham Young University; University of Kentucky.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. The final intercollegiate
winners will be announced after the completion of all four multimedia competitions in May and will be presented during the National Championships in June.

The multimedia judges are: Jarrad Henderson, Senior Multimedia Producer – Investigative and Enterprise Video Team, USA Today; Meredith Hogan, Senior Creative Producer, Red Element Studios; Robert Scheer, Visual
Journalist, The Indianapolis Star.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 63rd year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to
participate in the Hearst competitions.