2023 Hearst Championship Qualifiers Announced

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the 30 journalism students representing 14 universities from across the country who will compete in the 63rd annual National Writing, Photojournalism, Audio, Television and Multimedia Championships, June 2-8, 2023.

The finalists include eight writing finalists, six photojournalism finalists, five audio finalists, six television finalists and five multimedia finalists, selected from 1,304 entries received in this year’s 14 monthly competitions.

During the Championships, held in San Francisco, the finalists will fulfill assignments selected by the program judges, competing for scholarship awards of up to $10,000.

We congratulate the 2023 National Championship finalists.

Writing Finalists
Katherine Delk, University of Florida
Anna Guber, University of Florida
Austin Hanson, University of Iowa
Eli Hoff, University of Missouri
Andrew Lwowski, Arizona State University
Alasdair McNinch, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Nicolas Napier, Indiana University
Griffen Smith, University of Montana

Photo Finalists
Annie Barker, Michigan State University
Laura Bilson, Ohio University
J’sha Gift, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Kennedy Gott, Western Kentucky University
Wesley Lapointe, University of Oregon
Lauren Witte, University of Florida

Audio Finalists
Brianna Atkinson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Hallie Gutzwiller, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Briana Heaney, University of Missouri
Sophie Mallinson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
John Perik, Syracuse University

Television Finalists
Nicole Aponte, Syracuse University
Rachel Henderson, University of Missouri
Ophelie Jacobson, University of Florida
Cameron Joiner, University of Oklahoma
Julie Koharik, University of Missouri
Christopher Will, University of Florida

Multimedia Finalists
Alexis Ashby, University of Florida
Angelina Katsanis, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Avery Lotz, University of Florida
Drake Presto, Arizona State University
Alexandra Schallert, Western Kentucky University

Presently, 105 colleges and universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools are eligible to
participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Funded and administered for 63 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the Journalism Program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships, grants and stipends annually.