2021-22 Hearst Personality/Profile Writing Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Personality/Profile Writing Competition of the 2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.
There were 114 entries from 63 schools submitted in the fourth writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Abigail Weiss, a senior from Syracuse University.

Abigail will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning article “THE ONE – Joe Biden’s 1st wife Neilia Biden shaped his life, career while at Syracuse.”
Abigail also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held in
San Francisco this May.

The other top finalists are:
Second place, $2,000 award, Ava Loomar, University of Florida
Third place, $1,500 award, Elvia Verdugo, University of Arizona
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Natalia Galicza, University of Florida
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Maeve Sheehey, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Ava Leone, Pennsylvania State University
Seventh Place, certificate, Siobhan Eagen, San Francisco State University
Eighth Place, certificate, Jacob Moscovitch, University of Missouri
Ninth Place, certificate, Matthew Faludi, San Francisco State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Lauren Castro, University of Texas at Austin

University of Florida is currently first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition, with the highest
accumulated student points from the four of five writing competitions held thus far.
They are followed by:
Arizona State University; Syracuse University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Pennsylvania State University; Stony Brook University; University of Southern California; University of Montana (tie); Texas Christian University (tie); University of Missouri.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.
The final intercollegiate winners will be announced after the completion of all five writing competitions in May.

The writing judges are: Larry Kramer, retired President and Publisher, USA Today, VA; Maria Reeve, Editor-in-Chief, The Houston Chronicle, TX, David Zeeck, retired President and Publisher, The (Tacoma) News Tribune, WA.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 62nd year, also includes two photojournalism, one audio, two
television, and four multimedia competitions. The program offers up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends annually. There are 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs that are eligible to participate in the Hearst monthly competitions.