2021-22 Hearst Television News Competition Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Television News Competition of the 2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

There were 75 entries from 48 schools submitted in the second television competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Bradley Davis, a senior from University of Missouri.

Bradley wins a $3,000 award and qualifies for the Hearst National Television Championship which will be held this May.

The other top ten finalists and their awards are:

Second Place, $2,000 award, Faith Abercrombie, Arizona State University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Bryan Hofmann, University of Nevada, Reno
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Raven Payne, Arizona State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Elyse Schoenig, University of Missouri
Sixth Place, certificate, Ward Jolles, University of South Carolina
Seventh Place, certificate, John Perik, Syracuse University
Eighth Place, certificate, Carly Wasserlein, Brigham Young University
Ninth Place, certificate, John Webb, University of Idaho
Tenth Place, certificate, Andrea Esparza, California State University, Northridge

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The qualifying TV Semi-Finalists from Competitions I and II:
Faith Abercrombie, Arizona State University
Laura Measher, New York University
Kathryn Merck, University of Missouri
Ally Arnold O’Rullian, Brigham Young University
Raven Payne, Arizona State University
John Perik, Syracuse University
Elyse Schoenig, University of Missouri
Preston Shoemaker, Pennsylvania State University

These finalists will participate in the semi-final round. From that competition, four finalists will qualify for the Championship.

University of Missouri has won the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the two television and one audio competition.

It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Syracuse University; Arizona State University; University of Florida; Brigham Young University; University of Texas at Austin; Pennsylvania State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Nevada, Reno.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The television judges are: Candy Altman, retired Vice President of News, Hearst Television, NY; Holly Quan, Reporter/Anchor, KCBS Radio, CA; Joe Rovitto, President, Clemensen & Rovitto LLC, PA.

The 62nd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added broadcast journalism to the competitions in 1988.
The program also includes five writing, one audio, two photojournalism and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

There are 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.