2021-22 Hearst Photojournalism II Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Photojournalism Picture Story/Series Competition of the 2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

There were 83 entries from 48 universities submitted in the second photojournalism competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Angelina Katsanis from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Angelina wins a $3,000 scholarship and qualifies for the 2022 National Photojournalism Championship which will be held this May in San Francisco.

Other top winners:

Second Place, $2,000 award, Madeline Kraft, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third Place, $1,500 award, Gunnar Word, Western Kentucky University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Marlee Smith, Arizona State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Erin Burk, Ohio University
Sixth Place, certificate, Jerod Ringwald, University of Iowa

Seventh Place, certificate, Rhyne Newton, Western Kentucky University
Eighth Place, certificate, Michael Indriolo, Kent State University
Ninth Place, certificate, Lily Dozier, University of Missouri
Tenth Place, certificate, Laura Bilson, Ohio University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

Western Kentucky University has won the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest
accumulated student points in the two photo competitions. 
They are followed by:
 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Arizona State University; University of Florida; Ohio University; University of Kentucky; Michigan State University; San Francisco State University; University of Montana (tie); University of Oregon (tie);
University of Iowa.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The photojournalism judges are: Marcia Allert, Managing Photo Producer, Apple, CA; Nicole Frugé, Director of Visuals, San Francisco Chronicle, CA; Mark Morris, Independent Visual Consultant, CA.

The 62nd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970.
The program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.  Currently, there are 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.