2021-22 Hearst Multimedia Narrative Storytelling Winners Announced

2021-22 Hearst Multimedia Narrative Storytelling Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia Narrative Storytelling Competition of the
2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 83 entries from 52 schools submitted in the first of four multimedia competitions held this academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Lucas Grant Pruitt, a senior from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Lucas will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning multimedia piece “Get What You Give.” Lucas also qualifies to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards National Multimedia Championship which will be held in May 2022.

The other top finalists are:

Second place, $2,000 award,  Raj Paul Ghusar, San Francisco State University

Third place, $1,500 award, Endiya Griffin, University of Southern California

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Lauren Cmiel, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Sam Schwartz,  University of Southern California
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, Gabi Broekema, Western Kentucky University

Seventh Place, certificate, Tristan Maglunog, California State University, Fullerton

Eighth Place, certificate, Travis Robertson, Arizona State University

Ninth Place, certificate, Kimi Fleming, University of Maryland

Tenth Place, certificate, Jerrod Niles, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is in first place in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first of four multimedia competitions.
They are followed by: University of Southern California; Western Kentucky University; San Francisco State University; Arizona State
University; California State University, Fullerton; University of Maryland; Syracuse University;
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; New York University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. The final intercollegiate
winners will be announced after the completion of all four multimedia competitions in May.

The multimedia judges are: Danese Kenon, Director of Video and Photography, Philadelphia Inquirer, PA;
Jarrad Henderson, Senior Multimedia Producer – Investigative and Enterprise Video Team, USA Today, VA;
Meredith Hogan, Senior Creative Producer, Red Element Studios, WA.
The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 62nd year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010.

The program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 103 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.