2021-22 Hearst Television Features Competition Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Television Features Competition of the 2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 95 entries from 57 schools submitted in the first of two television

First Place has been awarded to Moriah Humiston a senior from Syracuse University. Moriah wins a $3,000 award and qualifies for the National Television Championship which will be held in May 2022.

The second-through-fifth place finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Kathryn Merck, University of Missouri
Third Place, $1,500 award, Ally Arnold O’Rullian, Brigham Young University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Laura Measher, New York University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Preston Shoemaker, Pennsylvania State University

These finalists along with the top four from the second television competition qualify for a semi-final round where they will submit additional entries. From that competition, four finalists will be chosen to compete in the National Television Championship.

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Pamela Comme, University of Florida
Seventh Place, certificate, Ghael Fobes, Syracuse University
Eighth Place, certificate, Edward Trentzsch, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, certificate, Mackenzie Hamilton, University of Southern Mississippi
Tenth Place, certificate, Harlee Hunsaker, Brigham Young University

Syracuse University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first of three broadcast competitions.

It is followed by: Brigham Young University; Pennsylvania State University; Michigan State University; University of Missouri; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; New York University; University of Florida; University of
Southern Mississippi; Kent State University (tie); Temple University (tie).
The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively, and will be announced after the completion of the audio and second television competition in April.

The television judges are: Candy Altman, retired Vice President of News, Hearst Television, NY; Holly Quan,
Reporter/Anchor, KCBS Radio, CA; Joe Rovitto, President, Clemensen & Rovitto LLC, PA.

The 62nd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added broadcast journalism to the competitions in 1988. The program also includes five writing, two photojournalism and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. There are 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to
participate in the Hearst competitions.