2021-22 Hearst Photojournalism I Winners Announced

2021-22 Hearst Photojournalism I Winners Announced

San Francisco – The Hearst Foundation announces the winners of the Photojournalism Features and News
Competition of the 2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The winners of the first photo competition of the year were selected from 101 entries submitted from 56
universities nationwide.

First Place has been awarded to Alberto Mariani from Arizona State University.
 Alberto wins a $3,000
scholarship and qualifies for the 2022 National Photojournalism Championship.

Other top winners who qualify for the semi-final round:

Second Place, $2,000 award, Chasity Maynard, University of Florida

Third Place, $1,500 award, Noah Riffe, Pennsylvania State University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Julia Nikhinson, University of Maryland

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Benjamin Fanjoy, San Francisco State University
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The second-through-fifth place winners, along with the top finalists in the next photo competition, will submit additional photographs for the semi-final round of judging next April.  Finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the National Championship, along with writing, audio, television and multimedia finalists.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, Sam Mallon, Western Kentucky University

Seventh Place, certificate, Zane Meyer-Thornton, Western Kentucky University
Eighth Place, certificate, Devin Anderson-Torrez, Michigan State University

Ninth Place, certificate, Jack Weaver, University of Kentucky

Tenth Place, certificate, Isaac Wasserman, University of Oregon

Arizona State University and University of Florida are tied for first place in the  Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first photo competition. 
They are followed by:
Ohio University; Western Kentucky University; University of Kentucky; Michigan State University (tie); Pennsylvania State University (tie); University of Maryland (tie); San Francisco State University (tie); University of Oregon;
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced after the Photo II competition in April. The top three
intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The photojournalism judges are: Marcia Allert, Managing Photo Producer, Apple, CA; Nicole Frugé, Director of
Visuals, San Francisco Chronicle, CA;  Mark Morris, Independent Visual Consultant, CA.

The 62nd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. The
program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.  Currently, there are 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.