2020 Hearst Television Championship Qualifiers Named

2020 Hearst Television Championship Qualifiers Named

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the five television finalists who have been selected to participate in the 60th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program Championships. The 2020 Hearst television
finalists are the first-place winners from the news and features monthly competitions plus three finalists selected from a semi-final round. A total of 175 entries were received in the two television competitions held this
academic year.

The Championship Finalists are:
Cambria Haro, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Spencer Humphrey, University of Missouri
Valerie Lyons, University of Florida
Dylan McKim, Arizona State University
Payton Tysinger, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the National Championship has been cancelled as an in-person event. In its place, an alternative competition will be held for the qualifying television finalists, as well as for the eight writing, five radio, five multimedia and six photo finalists. Finalists will fulfill spot assignments vying for scholarship awards of up to $10,000 in each category.

This television judges this year were: Candy Altman, retired Vice President News, Hearst Television, NY; Julie Chin, News Director, KNX Radio; Mary Lynn Roper, retired President and General Manager, KOAT-TV; and Fred Young,
retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television.

The 60th Annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one
radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.