2020 Hearst Photojournalism Championship Qualifiers Named

2020 Hearst Photojournalism Championship Qualifiers Named

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the six photojournalism finalists who have been
selected to participate in the 60th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program Championships. The 2020 Hearst
photojournalism finalists are the first-place winners from the news/features and picture story/series monthly
competitions plus four finalists selected from a semi-final round. A total of 227 entries were received in the two photo competitions held this academic year.

The Championship Finalists are:
Nic Antaya, Michigan State University
Nathaniel Bailey, Kent State University
Kenneth Ferriera, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Michael Swensen, Ohio University
Lily Thompson, Western Kentucky University
Katina Zentz, University of Iowa

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the National Championship has been cancelled as an in-person event. In its place, an alternative competition will be held for the qualifying photo finalists, as well as for the eight writing, five radio, five television and five multimedia. Finalists will fulfill spot assignments vying for scholarship awards of up to $10,000 in each category.

The photojournalism judges this year were: Carolyn Cole, Foreign National Photo Correspondent, Los Angeles Times, Mark Morris, Independent Visual Consultant, CA; Sue Morrow, Editor, News Photographer Magazine;
Luis Rios, Director of Photography, San Antonio Express-News.

The 60th Annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. Photojournalism was added to the program in 1970 – making this the 50th
anniversary of that category.

The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four
multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.