2019-20 Hearst Sports Writing Winners Named


The top 10 winners in college sports writing were announced today in the 60th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 104 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. There were 145 entries from 79 schools received in the third writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to David Eckert, a senior from Pennsylvania State University. David receives a $3,000 scholarship for his winning article titled “The Old Freshman” published in the Lion’s Roar. David also
qualifies to participate in the 2020 Hearst National Writing Championship.

The journalism departments of all scholarship winners receive matching grants.

Second-to-tenth place winners:
George Stoia, University of Oklahoma, second place, $2,000 scholarship

Nathan King, Auburn University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Hallie Hart, Oklahoma State University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Eli Lederman, University of Missouri, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

Stephen Perez, Arizona State University, sixth place, certificate of merit

Bailey Vandiver, University of Kentucky, seventh place, certificate of merit

Aiyana Ishmael, Florida A&M University, eighth place, certificate of merit

Sudeep Tumma, Oklahoma State University, ninth place, certificate of merit

Taylor McCloud, Syracuse University, tenth place, certificate of merit

Arizona State University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated
student points from the first three writing competitions of the year.

They are followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Syracuse University; University of Southern California; University of Missouri; University of Maryland; Auburn University; Pennsylvania State University;
Central Michigan University; San Jose State University (tie); Oklahoma State University (tie).

The final Intercollegiate Writing Competition winners will be announced after the completion of the five writing competitions in May.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; Dwayne Bray, Senior Coordinating Producer/Enterprise Reporting Unit, ESPN; and Larry Kramer, Retired President and Publisher, USA Today.

The 60th Annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one
radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.