2019-20 Hearst Multimedia II – Innovative Storytelling and Audience Engagement Competition Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia Innovative Storytelling and Audience Engagement Competition of the 2019-2020 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 51 entries from 32 schools submitted in the second multimedia competition of the year.

First Place has been awarded to Neda Karimi, from Stony Brook University. Neda will receive a $3,000
scholarship for the winning multimedia piece titled “#we stan 2020: A look into political fandom.” Neda also qualifies to participate in the National Multimedia Championship which will be held in Houston, Texas this June.

The other top finalists are:
Second place, $2,000 award, Mackenzie Behm, University of Florida
Third place, $1,500 award, Lucas Grant Pruitt, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Jacob Moscovitch, University of Missouri
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Kendall Warner, Western Kentucky University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Mhari Shaw, Western Kentucky University
Seventh Place, certificate, Zayrha Rodriguez, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Eighth Place, certificate, Mollie Lemm, University of Montana
Ninth Place, certificate, Lauren Malner, Brigham Young University
Tenth Place, certificate, Morgan Campbell, Pennsylvania State University

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is in first place in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first two multimedia competitions. They are followed by: Western Kentucky University; University of Florida; University of Montana; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Missouri; Stony Brook University; Pennsylvania State University; University of Oregon; New York University.

The final intercollegiate winners will be announced after the completion of the all four multimedia competitions and will be presented at the Intercollegiate Awards Ceremony this June in Houston.
The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively,

The Multimedia judges are: Danese Kenon, Director of Video & Photograph, Philadelphia Inquirer, PA; Brian Storm, Founder & Executive Producer, MediaStorm, CA; Jarrad Henderson, Senior Multimedia Producer – Investigative and Enterprise Video Team, USA Today, VA.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 60th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 104 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to
participate in the Hearst competitions.

# # #