2019-20 Hearst Photojournalism II Winners Named


Winners have been announced in the Photojournalism Picture Story/Series Competition of the 2019-2020 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The winners were selected from 89 entries submitted from 55 schools nationwide in the second and final photojournalism competition held this year.

First Place has been awarded to Michael Swensen, a senior from Ohio University.
Michael wins a $3,000 scholarship and qualifies for the National Photojournalism Championship.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we will not be holding the in-person National Championships in Houston as planned and are evaluating alternative possibilities.

The other top winners in this competition, along with the top finalists from the Photo I Competition, will submit additional photographs for the semi-final round of judging in April.

Winners who qualify for the semi-final round:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Lily Thompson, Western Kentucky University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Katina Zentz, University of Iowa
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Nathaniel Bailey, Kent State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Tristen Rouse, University of Missouri

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Stephanie Amador, Ball State University
Seventh Place, certificate, Kenneth Ferriera, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Eighth Place, certificate, Hope Davison, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, certificate, Juliana Yamada, San Francisco State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Gabriella Hofer, Arizona State University

Western Kentucky University has won the 2019-2020 Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the
highest accumulated student points in the two photo competitions held this year.

It is followed by: Arizona State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Michigan State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Ohio University; University of Missouri, Kent State University; University of Montana; Ball State University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The photojournalism judges are Carolyn Cole, Foreign National Photo Correspondent, The Los Angeles Times, CA; Mark Morris, Independent Visual Consultant, CA; Luis Rios, Director of Photography, San Antonio Express-News, TX.

The 60th Annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970 – making this the 50th anniversary of the photo category.

The 14 monthly competitions held annually are: five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.